Leadership and Staff

Get to know our leadership team who guide the direction of the graduate programs at NDSU.
 

Dean of the College of Graduate and Interdisciplinary Studies

Susan Sell, Ph.D.
Dean
susan.sell@ndsu.edu

Business and Operations Team

Nonnie Tangen
Business and Operations Manager
(701) 231-5944
nonnie.tangen@ndsu.edu

Oversees graduate assistantships, background checks, and tuition waivers, including Graduate School fund management, graduate student travel awards, recruitment awards, Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, NSF awards, and grant funding.

Business Coordinators

Monitors graduate assistantships and tuition waivers including contracts and annual trainings. Serves as the payroll liaison for graduate positions with college payroll administrators.

Sam Akers
(701) 231-5762
samantha.akers@ndsu.edu

  • Agriculture, Food Systems & Natural Resources
  • Engineering
  • Science and Mathematics
  • Lab/Chemical Safety Training

TBD
 

  • Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • Business
  • Graduate and Interdisciplinary Programs
  • Health Professions and Non-Academic Programs
  • Human Science and Education
  • Processes expense reports, invoices, and reimbursements
Admissions Team

Neely Benton
Director of Graduate Recruitment and Admissions
(701) 231-8476
neely.benton@ndsu.edu

Melissa Ostby
Graduate Admission Coordinator
(701) 231- 7034
melissa.j.ostby@ndsu.edu

Sam Akers
Business Coordinator
(701) 231-5762
samantha.akers@ndsu.edu

Academic Support Team

Melissa Selders-Ortez
Academic Support Administrator
(701) 231-5945
melissa.seldersortez@ndsu.edu

Agriculture, Food Systems and Natural Resources
Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Health Professions
Human Sciences and Education

Scarlet Gray Bernard
Dissertation and Thesis Coordinator
(701) 231-8250
scarlet.graybernard@ndsu.edu

    Hali Haugen
    Academic Support Specialist
    (701) 231-7982
    hali.haugen@ndsu.edu

    Business
    Engineering
    Interdisciplinary Studies
    Science and Math

    Matthew Warner
    Grad Hub and GPS Academy Coordinator
    (701) 231- 6456
    matthew.b.warner@ndsu.edu

    Center for Writers

    Mary Pull
    Associate Director
    (701) 231-7928
    mary.pull@ndsu.edu

    Kristina Caton
    Senior Writing Consultant
    (701) 231-5264 
    kristina.caton@ndsu.edu